The Brian Kelly Award

This annual award was established in 1996 in memory of Brian Kelly, a leading authority on graphite physics.

The award is intended as a travel grant for students and early career researchers with up to ten years postdoctoral experience to attend the annual international carbon conference. Anyone living or working, at the time of that conference, in the country where the conference is held is **not** *eligible*. As a consequence, applications will not be accepted from Japan on this occasion.

The award is made upon the basis of an appraisal of THREE documents: (1) the extended abstract or paper as submitted to the C2008 conference, (2) a short CV and (3) a commentary provided normally by the candidate's supervisor or close colleague. Self-nomination is permitted. The Award Committee of the British Carbon Group will determine the successful applicant.

The closing date for applications for C2008 will be **15<sup>th</sup> April 2008**.

The award is currently five hundred pounds sterling (£500) and is presented at the time of the conference. It is a condition of the award that the winner attends the conference and presents his or her paper either orally or as a poster.

Applications may be transferred electronically to the Chairman of The Brian Kelly Award Committee, Prof. Malcolm Heggie, at <u>m.i.heggie@sussex.ac.uk</u>or, exceptionally, mailed to him at the following address:

Prof. Malcolm Heggie Chairman, The British Carbon Group Department of Chemistry, Chichester Building, University of Sussex, Falmer, Brighton BN1 9QJ United Kingdom.

## **Previous Winners:**

1996: Y. Kawabuchi, Kyushu University, Japan

- 1997: J. Barbosa-Mota, Inst. Biologia Experimental e Tecnologica, Oeiras, Portugal
- 1998: B. Fathollahi, University of California, San Diego, USA

1999: no award

- 2000: J. Klett, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee, USA and J. Andresen, Penn State University, USA (two awards)
- 2001: Z.-X. Ma, Tohoku University, Japan
- 2002: J. Y. Howe, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Tennessee, USA and M. Guellali, University of Karlsruhe, Germany *(two awards)*

2003: no award

2004: Q.H.Yang, Tohoku University, Sendai Japan.

2005: no award

An-hui Lu, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim

- 2006 an der Ruhr, Germany and Emmanuel Flahaut Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France (two awards)
- 2007 Philipp Adelhelm, Max-Planck-Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, 14424 Potsdam, Germany